Skip to Main Content

Nourishing the Community for 35 years



Our mission is to provide a welcoming place where people can gather, receive nourishment and experience love in action, and to assist volunteers in providing food and fellowship to those served through the ministry of The Banquet. We will be vigilant in identifying and fulfilling the needs of the hungry in our diverse community and in encouraging the health and wellness of our guests. 

The Banquet meal ministry was founded in 1985 starting with just one meal per week. We now serve 16 meals per week at two locations. The Banquet is a volunteer-based ministry, which means our meals are paid for, prepared by, and served by volunteer groups who come from Sioux Falls and the surrounding area.

In 2020 The Banquet served over 200,000 meals, and at least 25,000 of those meals were served to children under 12. We go through approximately 15,000 gallons of milk each year.

Want to help?  Click here  to sign up to serve a meal. Thank you!

Come Eat With Us! Everyone Is Welcome.

  • Breakfast - Monday through Friday 
    from 7:00 to 8:00 am at 900 E. 8th Street
  • Dinner - Monday through Friday
    from 6:00 to 7:30 pm at 900 E. 8th Street AND at 710 N. Marion (5th & Marion)
  • Lunch - Saturday only
    from 11:30 am to 12:30 pm at 900 E. 8th Street
  • We do not serve a meal on Sundays.

Contact Us

To learn more about The Banquet or to have someone speak to your group, contact:
Tamera Jerke-Liesinger, Executive Director

To reach out for Development and Marketing, contact: 
Andrew Hewitt, Development and Marketing Director

To learn more about Serving and Sponsoring a meal or Volunteering, contact:
Brian Majerus, Community Partnership Coordinator

To Learn more About Project: SOS and other special events, contact:
Mary Hays Reichelt, Special Events Coordinator

Other Questions:
Shiloh Oorlog, Finance Manager
Renee Giese, Food Service Manager

Main office line: 605-335-7066

Board Members

The Executive Board leads the way for the decision-making process of The Banquet. The Advisory Board assists with coordinating and carrying out special projects and events. Below is a list of our board members who help make The Banquet successful.

Executive Board

President:  Dzenan Berberovic - Avera Foundation

Ryan Donovan-Avera Pace
Vice PresidentChad Johnson-Howe Inc.
Treasurer: Jake Wurth - Raven Industries
Secretary: Mike Townsend-KELO-TV
Past President: Ryan Donovan-Avera Pace
Ray Peterson-Five Star Call Center
Heidi Binstock-West Side Lutheran
Jeff Garden - Sioux Falls Police Department
Scott Honner - Jimmy John's Owner, Vermillion, SD 
Paul Schnaible - Schnaible Renovations, LLC
Jeff Sheets-Susan B. Anthony Elementary
Kurt Van Kalsbeek-The First National Bank in Sioux Falls
Chris Madsen - Claims Associates
Teresa DeBoor - RAS

Advisory Board

President:  - Ben Jacobs-Lifescape
Vice President: Darrel Bartell - Bartell Realty
Dawn Duerksen - Citi Bank
Christopher McDaniels - SD Air National Guard
Reynold Nesiba-Augustana University
Susanne Nester - Pampered Chef

Lisa Parker-Sammon Financial Group
Kristie Thorson - First National Bank
Trish Syverson- Community Volunteer